Home » Alignment » Soulful Sundays #7: Mindful Craft

Soulful Sundays #7: Mindful Craft


whatever-makes-your-soul-happy

Welcome to my seventh instalment of ‘Soulful Sundays’. A weekly share where I post a roundup of soulful reflections, each including recipes, songs, quotes, blogs I have read and/or any other inspirational discoveries to sooth the soul.

For me, Sunday’s have become a day of quiet contemplation and simple pleasures. A time to reflect on the week gone by and to consider my hopes and dreams for the week ahead.

My hope is to extend some love outward and to share some simple pleasures with anyone who cares to receive them.

Soul Reflections

This week I have focused on living more mindfully. It’s ironic that I teach children yoga and mindfulness, yet often, within moments of leaving school my mind begins to race again with the smallest of distractions. It’s not that I don’t know how to live mindfully, just that at times it’s so easy to forget.

So I have been connecting with my breath more whenever I notice my thoughts slip into auto pilot; I must reply to Tanya, I must remember to pick up lentils and potatoes, when is my hair appointment again? And breathe. Now isn’t this a wonderful day? Look how that butterfly flits around my midriff as though weaving an invisible outfit upon me… Maybe it’s sprinkling invisible glitter bliss balls on me. There. Now doesn’t that feel better? 😉

I wrote a list of 20 things I love to do. Surprising how many I had neglected. I suggest you try it too. Then make a promise to do one thing of those things off that list each week. One thing on my list which I had neglected was crafting, so whilst out (purchasing my lentils and potatoes) hehe I stopped in at Kikki K to pick up a new journal and treated myself to some inspirational quotes. And then I remembered the jars I had collected and stored in my kitchen cupboards. So when I got home, I dismissed checking my emails, switched off my phone and got crafty. I even said out loud: “I’m having so much fun!” So cheesy I know, but it was true. I felt so happy enjoying this simple pleasure. This week – whatever makes your soul happy, do that.


Soul Strolls 

I love lavender, as I have probably mentioned before. I use lavender oils daily and the scent is one I find calming and comforting. So when I passed my favourite corner on my daily walk, I was pleased to see that the red roses were in full bloom, creating a striking blood red contrast with the subtle lilacs of the lavender plant. Both plants reminded me of home in England, and brought a smile to my face.

img_7554
Soul Food

This week I am sharing my guilt free Blueberry & Oat Biscuits. I baked these for our camping trip last weekend and they were met with orgasmic Ummm ‘s and Ahhh’s of approval all round. If you love a good dunking biscuit without the refined sugars, then give these biccies a try. You wont regret it!

blueberryoatbiscuit1

Soul Sounds

Today I am sharing a lovely little track from one of my favourite soundtracks Many Beautiful Things. This song is called Meeting Lillias. It is short, but oh so very sweet.

Soul Sister’s

Today I am sharing a very apt post by one of my favourite writers here on WordPress, Miriam from Out n About. Miriam’s post is very fitting for this weeks focus on mindful living. Looking Up In November is a beautiful reminder  for us to look up and keep our eyes to the skies.

In love and light,

Hayley xx

3 thoughts on “Soulful Sundays #7: Mindful Craft

  1. Thank you so much for the lovely shout out and link Hayley. This is another gorgeous post, full of things that I love … lavender, walks, craft and as for those blueberry cookies, well I’m definitely giving them a try. They sound delicious. 😊 Have a wonderful week my friend. xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment