Home » love » Soulful Sunday #24: The Golden Hour

Soulful Sunday #24: The Golden Hour

slow and golden (1)

Welcome to my twenty-fourth instalment of ‘Soulful Sundays’. A weekly share where I post a roundup of soulful reflections, each including recipes, songs, quotes, blogs I have read and/or any other inspirational discoveries to sooth the soul.

For me, Sunday’s have become a day of quiet contemplation and simple pleasures. A time to reflect on the week gone by and to consider my hopes and dreams for the week ahead.

My hope is to extend some love outward and to share some simple pleasures with anyone who cares to receive them.

Soul Reflections

I used to think people who woke before sunrise were a little bit weird. ‘Why would anyone want to wake up that early?’ I’d wonder. But having risen with the sun most days now for the past year, I can’t imagine why anyone would not.

There is magic in the golden hour. Each sunrise comes bearing the gift of hope and renewal. It is a time when the world is at it’s most still; a pocket of peace and serenity. What a blessing to be greeted with the gentle kiss of a new day?

So what to do during the golden hour? Walk. Pray. Journal. Set your intentions for the day. Hug a hot mug of tea. Curl up to a loved one or a pet. Notice the sound of your own breathing, the steady rhythym of your heart beating. Smile as you listen to the gentle birds chorus to the heavens above. Meditate. Give thanks for life’s many miracles. Move – stretch your body with some gentle yoga and sun salutatons (Surya Namaskara). Or simply snuggle in your blankets, curl your toes and watch the sky from your window; see how it changes from black to purple, to crimson and blue. Refrain from any mental chatter; ‘I must clean the kitchen, take out the rubbish, pay my bills, prepare the kids lunches…’  and just be.

Some of our greatest revelations come to us during the early hours of the morning. As John Steinbeck reminds us, ‘Thoughts are slow and golden in the morning.’

Today, set your alarm early. Make sure to go to sleep eight hours before you rise. Savour the sublime of a new dawn.

Soul Strolls

This time last week, we were camping in Forge Creek for the Easter weekend. I was blessed with two beautiful sunrises and the soothing serenity of nature. Greeted with this swan filled lake as still as glass, I couldn’t help but feel fully present and at peace.

Our jet skis welcoming the new day

Swan lake

A memorising real life water colour

As still as glass

Among the many memories I shall cherish from Forge Creek, is a moment of moving along the surface of the lake as the swan beside us took flight. We rode beside her as her wings silently beat the air. I felt !like I was in a Nat Geo or David Attenborough episode! Priceless.

Soul Food

It’s Anzac day on Tuesday here in Australia, so today I am sharing my favourite healthy biscuit based on a traditional Anzac recipe. My Blueberry & Oat biscuits. Guilt free and delicious! Enjoy.

Soul Music 

Let It Be by the Beatles is the song of today. We try so much to control life and it’s outcomes. But at time we need to be reminded to surrender and simply ‘let it be.’ Trust in the process of life.

Soul Brothers

Today I am sharing Steve’s post about the value if time. A beautiful reminder to spend it wisely. Check out Steve’s post here.

Wishing you all a peaceful Sunday! 
In love & light,

Hayley xx

3 thoughts on “Soulful Sunday #24: The Golden Hour

  1. What an absolutely beautiful post Hayley. Your photos of Forge Creek are gorgeous (where is that by the way?) and your words, as always, are inspiring and make me look at early mornings in a new light. Must check out that recipe too. Thank you for another lovely read. Big hugs xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you my dear friend! Forge Creek was about 3-4 hours drive from here. This was a friends property that we camped by, so not sure of actual camping grounds. However, we were close to Waddy’s Point. I believe the lake I say by is called Goon Nure…hope this helps! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

