Home » connection » Soulful Sundays #21: Be still.

Soulful Sundays #21: Be still.

Greatest revelation is stillness (1)


Welcome to my twenty-first instalment of ‘Soulful Sundays’. A weekly share where I post a roundup of soulful reflections, each including recipes, songs, quotes, blogs I have read and/or any other inspirational discoveries to sooth the soul.

For me, Sunday’s have become a day of quiet contemplation and simple pleasures. A time to reflect on the week gone by and to consider my hopes and dreams for the week ahead.

My hope is to extend some love outward and to share some simple pleasures with anyone who cares to receive them.

Soul Reflections

This morning, as I sat and watched the sunrise, I listened to the birds and the sounds of nature and felt utterly at peace. Quite, amid Mother Nature’s orchestra, I heard it all. My mind, which had woken restless and busy, became still.

In today’s quote, Lao Tzu, philosopher and author of Tao Te Ching, reminds us that revelations lie within. When we commune with that peaceful place through mental stillness; meditation; time spent in nature; connecting with our surroundings and our self; or in simple moments of solitude – we discover the answers we seek.

In the silence between our thoughts, truth resides. Clarity emerges from that inner knowing that arrives when we silence the mental chit chat and become still. When we connect with our intuition, our soul.

I left the park feeling refreshed and at peace. My worries had dissolved and I had nothing else to think of. As the world around me began to wake, I was free to enjoy the moment. I stroked the dogs of passers by and watched the ebb and flow of life with a smile.

Today, be still. Disconnect from thinking, relax and breathe. Listen to the whispers of your soul and trust that all is well. Trust that everything will be ok.

Soul Strolls

I love lavender, which is why I had to take a photo of this beautiful patch growing in my local park. I use lavender oils daily to help me to sleep at night. Ahhh bliss.

DSC_0058

Soul Food

I’ve been itching to make risotto lately, and thought I may try this delicious Cauliflower Risotto with Saffron and Peas found on Kris Carr’s website. It looks delicious!

Cauliflower-Risotto-with-Saffron-and-Peas

Soul Music

Today I thought I’d share Cold Plays Up and Up – I like this song because it has an element of hope within it’s lyrics. We all need a little boost of hope from time to time.

 

My friend is currently waiting for me to take me to the beach! So I must dash – but I want to  wish you all a peaceful Sunday.

In love & ligh

Hayley xx

3 thoughts on “Soulful Sundays #21: Be still.

  1. Those early morning sunrises are the best. Not to mention a good walk, I always feel better after a walk too. This is a beautiful post Hayley and a timely reminder to slow down, pause, take a deep breath and just let go of everything. Yes, to be still. Thank you my lovely friend. Hope you enjoyed the beach. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Dear Miriam, I have been sort of chasing my tail as of late, but am slowly regaining some balance! Baby steps – and yes, taking a moment to ‘slow down’ and ‘breathe’ – sending you much love and hugs xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

