Home » Dear Dad » A Heavy Departure

A Heavy Departure

Writing 101, Day 14: Recreate a single day
Write a post that takes place during one single day. Zoom in even further, limiting yourself to just one hour of your chosen day.

door ajar

It is the early hours of the morning. Mum waits downstairs with my case, ready to take me to the airport. Time to return to Spain – to return to the man I love and will eventually become engaged to. A man I shall never marry; a man I eventually part from with no regrets.

I creep into the room where my Dad sleeps, the aftermath of last night’s argument heavy in my heart. I peer at the man I am leaving behind. A man I love dearly; a man I shall part from with a lifetime of regrets.

I kiss Dad gently on his cheek, startling him from his sleep. I whisper, ‘Goodbye, I’m leaving now.’ As Dad murmurs, drifting between sleep and consciousness, I tip toe from the room, taking with me all of my heartache – all of my regrets. I close the door, unaware that this is the last time I will see Dad alive.

***

“Have you got everything?”
“Yes.” We walk up the garden path, the sound of my suitcase harsh and uninviting, the quiet of the morning disturbed by its heavy drag.
“You sure? You haven’t forgotten anything?” A sigh, a glance towards the bedroom window, a sinking feeling.
“…No.”

7 thoughts on “A Heavy Departure

  1. Oh, Hayley, this is so poignant. The sadness seems like clay which I can hold in my hand. Wish I could mold away the pain. But that is only the job our Heavenly Father can do. And it comes with being molded on the potter’s wheel. An analogy in the Bible. Are you familiar with it? Anyway He perfects the clay. He has certainly endowed you with a special ability to mold words magically.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kind Oneta, I am not familiar with this analogy from the bible, but it created such beautiful imagery in my mind and brought me comfort – so I thank you for that ❤ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

