Home » Alignment » Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day

7

Dear Dad,

I love you every day of my life – but on this special day, I want you to know how much you mean to me and just how dearly you are missed. Happy Father’s Day, Dad. Not a day passes where you are not in my thoughts…
Thank you for being such a shining light.

And for you, I wrote this poem:

So short lived,
were my chocolate raisin days.
All I have left now
are the memories of your ways.
No more bear hugs,
no more Matchbox cars today.
I’m holding on tight
because it doesn’t feel right.
Don’t let this slip away.

Your time here,
it was rocky
it was rough.
Never said you’re giving up
because my gentle giant was tough.
No need for fast cars,
briefcases, expensive suits.
Your love was enough
and your love
was all for us.
Don’t let this slip away.

Because I
will never forget you.
You’re with me
in everything I do.
My smile’s
a reflection of you.
I live my life through you
because it’s all I can do.
You are my parachute.

Your descent
upon this
material world; it was oh so
brief.
I was left in disbelief,
I had to stop being
Daddy’s girl.
Your courage was reborn
deep in my heart;
the realisation
that from you
I shall never
ever
part.
I’m letting go
because I know
I must
grow,
but you’ll always remain
forever young.

My King of Hearts
has flown,
but I’m willing to take the thrown.
To your legacy I will live.
And as you did,
I will give,
And give.
My Parachute.

My parachute,
my strength
to breath.
You’re the reason
I’m living so free.
You paved the way,
you set the pace,
within my heart
you’ll always
hold your
place.

parachute

8 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day

      • I like the creativity! You know what else I like is that you call me Debs…my immediate family calls me Debs and when you wrote it once before it made me smile…another “thing” we share…I love it!!! xo I think we might be soul related somehow…perhaps in former lives!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahhhh do they? hehe well from now on I will continue to call you Debs! It just slips out! Maybe I am one of your long lost soul sistas?! 🙂 I have often thought how lucky I am to have met someone so lovely (and so similar) here on WordPress! Just goes to show how we can meet kindred spirits from all over the world! 😀 xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree! I always look forward to reading your comments…I’m sure we must be long lost soul sistas!!! When I read what you write I hear it in my head with an English accent, it’s so funny!! And I love the terms you use too!! xo

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha I love this – even funnier is that I have a Northern English accent – so I imagine I sound ridiculously funny to you if you ever heard me! I’m from Manchester so I have a similar accent to David Beckham and Gary Barlow

        Like

Leave a Reply

